Georgia’s Hands Free Law Begins July 1, 2018
As laws go, the new hands free law is a pretty simple one. Drivers in Georgia, as of July 1, 2018, may not physically touch any wireless or stand-alone electronic device while operating a motor vehicle, except for a single button to make or answer a call.
Yes, drivers may use voice commands via a Bluetooth or similar earpiece or headphone device. Also, you may speak commands into a device worn on your wrist. You may use your phone’s internal speaker or your car speakers.
But you may not hold your phone in any way.
Drivers under 18 are banned from using any wireless communication device or stand-alone electronic device. School bus drivers may not use a cell phone while loading or unloading passengers; nor may drivers touch their phones while at stop signs or stop lights.
This bans texting, watching or creating videos, or answering emails while behind the wheel. We hope it will cut down on needless accidents and injuries.
The Hands Free Law
Effective July 1, 2018, pursuant to 40-6-241(c), all drivers operating a motor vehicle on any highway of this state are prohibited from:
- Holding or supporting, with any part of the body, a wireless telecommunications device or stand-alone electronic device.
- Writing, sending or reading any text-based communication, including a text message, instant message, e-mail or internet data.
- Watching, recording, or broadcasting a video or movie.
- 1st conviction – 1 point and $50.00 fine
- 2nd conviction – 2 points and $100.00 fine
- 3rd or more convictions – 3 points and $150.00 fine
The Bottom Line
You may not touch your cell phone or other electronic gizmos while you operate a motor vehicle, unless you must do so to dial 911 to report an accident, for example.