Lake Lanier Convention & Visitors Bureau Honored

The Lake Lanier Convention & Visitors Bureau was awarded the Southeast Tourism Society’s 2012 Shining Example Award for Internet Excellence.

Pictured above from left to right: Jennifer Norman, Executive Director of Visit Anderson (former VP of Lake Lanier CVB); Tom Duke, Populace, Inc; Bill Hardman, President and CEO of Southeast Tourism Society; Stacey Dickson, President Lake Lanier CVB; Matt Greene, Populace, Inc.

This prestigious honor was bestowed on the Lake Lanier Convention & Visitors Bureau (LLCVB) on November 1, 2012 in Virginia Beach, VA, where the tourism industry met for an educational conference.  Leaders from a dozen Southern states gathered for a black-tie awards ceremony

Southeast Tourism Society’s President and CEO Bill Hardman said, “Shining Example Awards highlight some of the best work in travel and tourism, and winners truly set examples that others in the industry can follow.  Showcasing great work is important because tourism is the largest, second-largest or third-largest industry in every Southeastern state.”

During the presentation LLCVB’s President Stacey Dickson said, “We are pleased and honored to be recognized with this honor by the Southeast Tourism Society.  This award is acknowledgement of many hours of hard work and a lot of thrifty use of our funds to create a dynamic and powerful marketing tool for our destination.”

Tom Duke and Matt Greene of Populace, Inc. — who developed the Best of Lake Lanier smartphone app — were equally grateful for the award.  “Working with the Lake Lanier CVB to build their app was a wonderful experience.  The success of the ‘Best of Lake Lanier’ has catapulted our company into the limelight in a way we could never have predicted,” stated Matt Greene, founder of the Internet marketing company.

Other 2012 winners:

Escape to the Southeast Travel Attraction of the Year

Ruby Falls – Chattanooga, TN

CVB of the Year (Category 1 – Budget less than $2 million)

TOUR Southern & Eastern Kentucky – Somerset, KY

CVB of the Year (Category 2 – Budget between $2 -$5 million)

Tupelo CVB – Tupelo, MS

CVB of the Year (Category 3 – Budget greater than $5 million)

Virginia Beach CVB – Virginia Beach, VA

Top 20 Event/Festival of the Year (Category 1)

Bloomin’ BBQ & Bluegrass – Sevierville, TN

Top 20 Event/Festival of the Year (Category 2)

BayFest Music Festival – Mobile, AL

Internet Excellence

Lake Lanier CVB – Gainesville, GA

Visual Excellence

Greenbrier County CVB – Lewisburg, WV

Tourism for Tomorrow

Mississippi Blues Trail – Jackson, MS

State Tourism Office of the Year


Governmental Tourism Leadership Award

Alabama Sen. Arthur Orr – Huntsville, AL

Rising Star Award

Rashelle Beasley, manager of the Albany, Georgia, Welcome Center

Beacon Award

Marcus G. Smith – Concord, NC

Chairman of the Board Award

Angie Briggs – Miles Partnership

Spirit of STS Award

Tom Adkinson – BOHAN Advertising

Click Here for Southeast Tourism Society’s Website

Founded in 1983, the Southeast Tourism Society is dedicated to the promotion and development of tourism to its 12 member states — Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Membership includes state travel offices, attractions, hotels, motels, resorts, convention and visitors bureaus, transportation companies, newspapers, magazines and other travel-related organizations.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,